And we’re off

Welcome to the new and improved (with Bluetooth! and turbocharging!) Shut Up, He Explained. “How can it be both new and improved?” the person in my head asks. And one of the other people in my head answers, “It’s magic. Don’t look too closely behind the curtain.” Because the world desperately needs another blog about every possible bit of minutiae bouncing around a largely empty cranium.

As you can tell by the blogroll, which isn’t quite finished, I’m a conservative. Note that I didn’t say I’m a Republican, because I’m not. I believe in conservative principles like limited government, limited government intrusion, free-market capitalism, etc. Of course, my vote usually ends up going to a member of the Republican Party, because they hew closest to those principles, but I have no allegiance to any party. And I’ll go ahead and say it: both parties have LOTS of problems. Government at its best is a pretty nasty sausage-making business, and the workaday government processes are such nasty sausage-making businesses that they would make Upton Sinclair lose his lunch.

I’m also into technology and popular culture, although the pop culture interest is shrinking as I get older. I’ll explain as we go along.

Although the name of the blog (taken from Ring Lardner’s The Young Immigrunts) would suggest this will be the most foul, cruel, and bad-tempered blog you ever set eyes on, that is not the case. Snark will abound, because I believe sarcasm in the right spirit and in the right proportions is very effective and quite appropriate, but one of my founding principles is no ad hominems. Ever. This goes for me (feel free to call me on it if I slip up), and for commentators. If you can’t make a point, whether I agree with that point or not, without name-calling, then keep your thoughts to yourself and let the grown-ups talk. In my definition, changing names is an ad hominem, so calling Pres. Obama “Pres. Yomama” or some such is not permitted. (That kind of stuff killed in the fourth grade, but not any more.)

My Twitter ID is @shutupheexplain, with no “ed” at the end. My email address is the name of the blog at g mail.

It’ll be slow going in the beginning, but it’ll pick up.

I’ll leave you with this. All this stuff you’ve heard about America not wanting to blog, wanting to stay out of the blogging war, is a lot of horse dung. Americans traditionally love to blog. All real Americans love the sting of blog battle. When you were kids, you all admired the champion marble shooter, the fastest runner, big league ball players, the toughest boxers. Americans love a winner and will not tolerate a loser. So get in there and comment, link, Twitter and recommend!

Leave a Reply

